Upcoming Deadline!

Deadlines keep me on track. They insist that I finish the project I started. They don’t care that I have mouths to feed, chores to perform, or folks with whom I need to spend quality time. Deadlines are greedy and self serving, but without them, I doubt I’d be as productive.

That having been said, the first deadline of the New Year has reared its ugly head. January 15th is looming ever closer and I find myself, once again, pushing the proverbial envelope.

This is the third year in which I have participated in the Brooklyn Art Library Sketchbook Project. I have had my 2012 sketchbook in hand since last spring. I swore that I was not going to procrastinate, that I would work steadily on the thing until it was done. I promised myself that I would not be working on it over the holidays, or pushing to finish it at the very last minute. Yet, here I am, sweating it out, hoping to finish the thing and get it in the mail in the nick of time!

Over the summer, I managed to lay in some color on the pages. That gave me a false sense of having made a great deal of progress. One week ago, I still had no chosen theme, no ideas and no direction.

Choosing a theme, provided direction. And STILL I dragged my feet. Not for the first time, I find myself wondering if this annual endeavor has become more an obligation to fulfill than an enjoyable way to showcase my artwork. To be completely honest, I don’t feel as though I’m doing my best work here.

Locking myself into the singular dimension of a page has limited me greatly. I tend to work in 3D. I would sooo love to make a book of Trash Bubbles right now! But alas, the dimensions would far exceed those allowed. Sigh.

2012Sketchbook 001

It’s back to work for me… You can check out my previous Sketchbooks here: http://www.sketchbookproject.com/users/LynnRadford/artwork

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

Leave a Reply

