Sketchbook Project 2013, CHECK!

Last Tuesday was the postal deadline for the 2013 Sketchbook Project. I was able to make it with a little help from a friend. Jill Eudaly and I are high school chums who just happen to be travelling along similar, artistic paths at this point in time. She and I have participated in the Art House Co-op project for three years running.

The first year, we often made time to work on our books together. By the second year, we found it difficult to find time to make art, let alone get together to do so. This year, we were operating solo for many reasons. So, when Jill suggested that we meet to share our finished sketchbooks and mail them, I readily accepted. (A quick note here: Jill was the driving force behind my Trash Bubbles submission to GreenCraft and this blog.)

We sat in the local Starbucks, with our favorite beverages and took in each other’s vision. (It must be said that Jill’s sketchbook, Fly Me to the Moon, is way cool! You can read more about it on her blog, Recycled Daze: http://www.jeudaly.blogspot.com/) We caught up on the news in our busy lives and then we were off to post our labors of love and art, sending them home to roost in the Brooklyn Art Library, home of the Art House Co-op and Sketchbook Project.

We had a passerby snap a photo of us for posterity. It isn’t as flattering a picture as I would’ve liked, but it is documentation of the day! It screams: WE DID IT!

And They're Off!

As is always the case when I send my work out into the world my stomach was queasy, I worried if I’d met all the criteria and I needed to breathe deeply to recover. Jill is so cool about these things. She has a carefree attitude about her work that I admire. I think that comes with being self-assured and confident. Needless to say, I wish I were more like Jill in that regard.

Since then, things seem to be going in slow-motion-fast-forward for me. The stuff of life is getting in the way of my attempts to make art, as it is wont to do. With so many changes in our home life recently, I hope to ease into my new routine before much longer. If not, I fear that my need to create may run over everything else in an effort to be heard!

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

2 thoughts on “Sketchbook Project 2013, CHECK!

Leave a Reply

