Trash Bubblet Has Landed!

Trash Bubblet I

Last week, I discovered via http://www.sparkledaysstudio.com/2013/02/27/keeping-it-simple-what-to-do-with-a-bubblet/#comment-6390 that Corrine Gilman of Sparkle Days Studio had created a Trash Bubblet for me. I was tickled! It was great to see that my Trash Bubbles! article in the Winter 2013 issue of GreenCraft magazine had been the inspiration for such a great piece. Better yet, that Corrine had embraced the Trash Bubble concept, going so far as to name the multi-bubble pieces, was amazing! From here on out, any Trash Bubble with more than one chamber shall be refered to as a Bubblet!

Here is a close-up of the Bubblet’s detail: Trash Bubblet III

I particularly love the shape of the chambers, six-sided bases with bubbles atop! So much fun! Its size is impressive at 9×6 inches. (I had expected a standard 4×6 postcard.) Corrine used confetti sized scrap to fill the chambers and a colorful stamped piece as its backdrop. Just looking at it makes my soul happy!

The Bubblet took its good old time to arrive at Piney Creek Acres, having travelled the USPS to get here. Corrine and I have been exchanging mail art for about a year now, having met through a mutual friend’s blog and mail art swap. (Jill Eudaly of Recycled Daze: http://www.jeudaly.blogspot.com/) We are all contemporaries over at the International Union of Mail Artists (IUOMA.) As such, it was quite fitting that the Bubblet was genuine mail art!

I loved the cereal box backing which provided stability for the piece. The security envelope address areas added texture, as did the torn scrap upon which she wrote her note to me.

Trash Bubblet II

Here is the first Bubblet I created, long before Corrine aptly named them:

SP 2013 Trash Bubble

You may recall from a previous post, that this Bubblet was created for my 2013 Sketchbook Project from a gum packet.

Corrine didn’t stop at the Bubblet. She also created a Happy Trash Bubble for our friend, Jill. It is pictured below and more about it can be found on their blog posts:

http://www.sparkledaysstudio.com/2013/03/04/monday-monday-its-mail-for-you/

http://www.jeudaly.blogspot.com/2013/03/thank-you-corrine-gilman-for-trash.html

Happy Trash Bubble (CG to JE)

Here at Trash Bubbles and Life’s Little Bits, we want to see the Bubbles and Bubblets you create. Feel free to post a link to your Bubbles in the comment section of any post.

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

4 thoughts on “Trash Bubblet Has Landed!

  1. I just sent a call out on Facebook to my friends to see who might have a bubble or two. It will be fun to see if you get any new ones in the mail. I can’t believe it took so long to get to you! Happiness is trash. xox

    • Thanks for the shout out, Corrine. 🙂
      The anticipation really had time to build with your Bubblet, but it was well worth the wait! I love it! 🙂

    • Hmmm, a slogan, huh? I thought a catchy closing line like: Happy Trash to you, until we meet again! was enough. I guess this IS the great blogosphere, where we’re all competing for the time of few…. Hit me with your best slogans, Jill! Maybe we’ll build a poll around them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

