On My Desk: Right Now!

RIGHT NOW! Three

Originally, I had intended this piece to be a submission for the Epistolarium 2 mail art call for the theme Right Now. Theresa Williams is the woman behind the blog at http://theletterproject.wordpress.com/. I met her through IUOMA and was intrigued by her epistolary assemblages.

Creating a more literal translation of the theme went like this for me: First, I decided that a cut-out of my RIGHT hand would have to be central. I got hands-on with my paper stash and built my palette using the white printed transparency as my jumping off point. It looked really sharp over top the crisp black sketch paper. But what to do for the hand? Then I found red vellum! Voila!

RIGHT NOW! One

Once the pieces were preliminarily assembled, I made the decision to journal the foundation layer. I contemplated the theme, Right Now. What is important to me, right now? Who am I, right now? I chose silver and white inks that would stand out against the black and yet would blend seamlessly with the transparency layer. I ran the date down the righthand length of the page in white and began at the top with I AM statements, in silver, running them around and around the outer edges of the page, working slowly inward. (Notice the inward focus.) When a word would seem to shout at me, I wrote it BIG! White was used to highlight the large text and some other bits. I used rub-ons to letter the fingertips, outlining them in white to help them pop.

RIGHT NOW! Two

To attach the hand to the bottom layer, I pre-punched needle holes in a zig-zag pattern through both layers and stitched through them with black embroidery thread. The transparency layer was attached by punching two small holes through the top and bottom at the middle and tying a bit of coordinating ribbon through them. NOW! was added atop the transparency using chipboard stickers. It seemed to need a little something in the burst on the wrist, so I added a piece I removed from a thumb tack. The individual layers can be viewed by lifting the transparency from the bottom and gently bending the hand away from the black page of text.

The result made my heart happy! It was then, I realized that I was unable to part with it. I sent a digital image off to Theresa. And intend to send her a color copy of the image. The original has become a page in my art journal.

I suppose I might try to create another work inspired by the Right Now theme, I still have a week or so… but then I also have other deadlines looming, not to mention personal commitments. We’ll have to wait and see.

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

2 thoughts on “On My Desk: Right Now!

Leave a Reply

