Imagine: A Different Kind of Bubble

Trash Bubbles are typically created from the discarded blister packaging meant to display consumer goods for sale. As their name states, they are filled with trashy bits serving as visual poetry within the bubble.

Today, I present a different kind of Bubble. This one arose out of a need to provide a unique piece for an assemblage I was building. The criteria were size and color. It could be no larger than 1 5/16″ x 1 1/2″ and needed to be colorful.

Digging through my collection of hardware, odd containers and found objects, I came across several vintage fuse tins. The tin slide was bright yellow and the plastic tray insert was clear. Once I realized that it fit the measurements, I thought, “Bubble!”

Vintage Fuse Container

Too small to display trashy bits effectively, I toyed with filler ideas. In the end, I used a small stamped image, to which color had been added, gluing it to the plastic so that the image could be viewed. I filled the space in the tray with multi-color mylar confetti leftover from another project and slid it back into the tin lid. Voila!

Imagine

Although Trash Bubbles are amazingly eco-friendly, they do not have to be trashy. This piece goes to show that the only limit to the creation of Bubbles is one’s own imagination. I encourage you to create a Bubble of your own today. I would love to see what you come up with. Please share links to your creations in the comment section.

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

4 thoughts on “Imagine: A Different Kind of Bubble

  1. I just dubbed you the guru of bubble over at Jill’s blog, another one on the way to you today…..some of my friends are into it too! Tiny is tough for me, you make it look simple. xox

Leave a Reply

