Litter Bug

The Litter Bug bubble hangs just below Grow Miracles on the Trash Bubbles Heart the Earth mobile. Read the original post here: https://trashbubblesandlifeslittlebits.wordpress.com/2013/04/11/trash-bubbles-heart-the-earth/

Litter Bug was the first bubble created for the mobile and as I worked, I measured all the other bubbles against it. Because the mobile was an Earth Day project, I really wanted to focus on the trash as much as on the beauty wrought from it. If not for litter bugs, I wouldn’t have so much inspiration looking up at me from the ground on my walks. However, I can find inspiration to create anywhere. I would much rather folks dispose of their trash properly.

Litter Bug

A piece of green all-weather carpet (washed up in a mild flood) made a great jumping off point for this piece. I added a crumpled scrap of smokey blue paper (pulled from my trash can) behind it to serve as sky. Bits of this and that jumped out at me from my jar of trash and found objects and soon, the bubble was nearly overflowing. The composition had become too cluttered. As I was going for a less is more approach, I removed several trashy bits and this was the end result.

Littered Landscape

A scrap of that chopped up Miracle Grow bag made the cut, as did a broken piece of flourescent lighting grate, and a fantastically rusty piece. The flower bead (found peeking up from the mud one day) gave me the complementary color I needed to complete the piece.

The packaging originally housed Tim Holtz idea-ology ruler ribbon. (Note the grommet in the upper right-hand corner which held the one inch sample.) The package is hinged at the bottom and snaps together, making it so that little was needed in the way of closure. I threaded a bit of aged gas line ribbon (found on the forest floor) through that grommet and snapped the piece shut, using patterned paper tape to seal the edges shut.

It is a beautiful day in the neighborhood! I’m off to hunt trashy bits and clean up the roadside near Piney Creek Acres….

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

3 thoughts on “Litter Bug

    • Rusty bits have always held a special draw for me. It was only through IUOMA and Nancy Bell Scott that I really began incorporating them into my work. I was lucky enough to find a rusted wrench washed up in the driveway this morning. I can’t wait to build a piece of art around it!

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Trash Bubbles: REDO | Trash Bubbles and Life's Little Bits

Leave a Reply

