On My Desk: Eclectic Paperie’s Get Altered Clock Challenge!

Anyone who knows me, knows I have a passion for time pieces. Ever since I was a little girl, I have been drawn to all sorts of clocks and watches. To be honest, I think my grandmother’s cuckoo clock started it all.

In any case, our small house is home to more than a dozen clocks and even more watches. Many of my favorite quotes and sayings are based on that all elusive quality: TIME. Was it any wonder then, that the Altered Clock challenge from Eclectic Paperie immediately consumed my thoughts? http://eclecticpaperie.blogspot.com/2013/04/get-altered-challenge-clocks.html

At first, I toyed with the idea of altering an antique, but I couldn’t bring  myself to do it. I finally settled on a new clock that we’d relegated to the Goodwill pile. So excited was I, by the vision in my head, that I forgot to take a before picture. A few steps in, I finally remembered.

Altered Clock I

At this point, I had taken the clock apart, removed its hands and face and began applying paper tape (printed with gears) to the inside edge.

Delving into my stash of clock papers, I began layering a new face.

Altered Clock II

The base was cut from the reverse side of a piece of BoBunny 12″ Timepiece Dot and was tinted with Tim Holtz Antique Linen Distress Ink. I was pleasantly surprised to find that a paper dial I had saved from another project fit the edge perfectly. The center piece was cut from Recollections printed canvas and tinted with Tattered Angels Suede Glimmer Mist and Tim Holtz Walnut Stain Distress Ink.. In this photo, the canvas is being hand-stitched in place using black crewel thread and the blanket stitch, in keeping with the printed edge.

When the stitching was complete, I glued a cut-out from BoBunny 12″ Timepiece Tick Tock in the lower left corner, positioning it carefully between nine and six o’clock. Once dry, I added Graphic 45 numerals 3,6,9, and 12 from a Staples alphabet sticker sheet. Numerals 1,2,4,5,7,8,10,and 11 are Tim Holtz idea-ology Game Pieces that have been lightly sanded and brushed with Walnut Stain Distress Ink.

Altered Clock III

 

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

10 thoughts on “On My Desk: Eclectic Paperie’s Get Altered Clock Challenge!

  1. oh this is amazing! The canvas center with the stitching around it is absolutely stunning – what an amazing alteration. Thanks so much for sharing it at eclectic Paperie!

  2. Did you send the clock off or was it just photos? I too love clocks and it all started with cuckoos.I have one just like my grandma’s. But for some reason the tick tock noise now drives me crazy. I have a whole list of stuff that drives me crazy…gets longer every year!
    I think it turned out wonderful. It was a warm glow, that’s how time should be. Not stressed out crazy watch the clock, time slipping by fear.
    you did good!

  3. Oh Lynn, I love this! Thanks for the step-by-step. I once bought workings to make a clock. Never did. Now where did I put those things. If I find, they’ll be on their way to YOU!

    • Thanks for the enthusiasm, Mim! Clock workings… make me smile. 🙂 I’ve taken to scouting yard sales for old watches and watch parts… they make great bits for assemblages!

  4. Fantastic work on your altered clock a great combination of techniques and materials the hand stitching is a brilliant touch! Thankyou for joining us at Eclectic Paperie hope to see you again x

Leave a Reply

