I Think ICAD! I Think ICAD! I Think ICAD!

First Five ICADs

It’s Day 5 of the ICAD 2013 challenge over at Daisy Yellow: http://daisyyellowart.com/icad/icad-faq.html. I am happy to say that I have completed a 4 x 6 index card for each of these first five days. That having been said, it might become tough to keep up the pace as summer moves in, bringing with it all manner of fun things to distract me!

The weekly themes and prompts Tammy Garcia created for this challenge are simple and fun! Check out the Week 1 prompts here: http://daisyyellowart.com/icad/icad-2013-prompts-week-of-june-1.html.

Day 1 found me taking a very literal translation of both the weekly theme and the daily prompt. Using ZigWriters, I doodled the zebra stripes before filling them in with the colors of the rainbow. (Roy G. Biv, baby! Nothing makes me happier than a rainbow of color!) I count myself among others that appreciate the movement in RAINBOW ZEBRA:

RAINBOW ZEBRA

The Day 2 prompt was Candy Land. A good tool for teaching colors, matching, counting and turn taking, I think everyone must’ve played the game as a child! On a graph lined card, CANDYLAND CARD PATTERN simply reflects my love of the card combinations:

CANDYLAND CARD PATTERN

Faux stitching was the prompt for Day 3. I began this piece by sponging hot pink acrylic paint over a plain white card. Next, I masked off a stencil and sprayed it with Tattered Angels Caribbean Blue Glimmer Mist. When it was completely dry, I doodled in some stitching with a purple ZigWriter. Some rub-on stitches were also applied. EMBROIDERED FLORAL was a fun piece to create!

Embroidered Floral

More than a year ago, I bought a roll of textured wallpaper at a yard sale. Day 4 gave me the opportunity to finally break into it! I happily tore a piece from the roll and glued it to a 4 x 6 card. Acrylic paint was applied with a brayer in layers of red, black and white. Circles in two sizes were “stamped on” with caps dipped in black and white paint. Dots were cut from a scrap of black that had been sponged over with white and glued in place. To finish, a black ZigWriter helped to highlight some of the textured ridges. A dramatic splash, TEXTURED DOTS reminds me of artwork one might hang over a sofa in a black and white, ultra modern living room:

Textured Dots

The Day 5 prompt was recycle or re-purpose. Regular readers of this blog know that I have no problem re-purposing and recycling bits of this and that in my artwork. This piece began with a 4 x 6 card from the backing of a k and company scrap book embellishment. The soft green of the packaging provided a perfect base. To that, I added three randomly placed circles, cut from an old greeting card. From there, I doodled with a gold Sharpie until three blooms emerged. ZigWriters and a white Sharpie paint pen filled in the color and details. DoOdLe FLoWeRs are a favorite relaxing pastime.

DoOdLe FLoWeRs

If you are participating in ICAD 2013, feel free to link your blog posts about it in the comments below.

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

9 thoughts on “I Think ICAD! I Think ICAD! I Think ICAD!

  1. They’re all beautiful and all so unique. I love that you’re using different techniques and materials. What an amazing repertoire! I can’t wait to see what else you come up with.

  2. Pingback: 2 More ICADs | Crafty Madre

Leave a Reply

