ICAD Follow-up!

The prompts for ICAD 2013 have been so inspiring that I have taken them in order. I’ve also decided to use all eight prompts each week, which has me off by a day. I must confess, last weekend was unproductive in the ICAD department, leaving me scrambling to catch up in time for the weekly Wednesday ICAD update.

Week 2 ICAD Sampler

The first of seven ICADs this week, Worthy, is one of my absolute faves. The prompt was crown. Glimmer Mist provided the background color. Bird was cut from a scrap of printed paper, tinted with chalk ink. Crown was an embellishment from Theresa Collins, made glorious with a gold sharpie and other assorted colors. The “nest” was a fun piece cut from a previously used envelope. Rub-ons and dot stamp added texture and depth to the background. Stick-on gems added just the right amount of bling!

Worthy

I love the way bright colors seem to POP! off a black background. That’s what I had in mind when I created this Paisley Sampler with my ZigWriters and gel pens.

Paisley Sampler

The Calligraphy Sampler was done on a 4 x 6 graph printed card with both regular and calligraphic ZigWriters. (The bottom portion of the image did not scan for some reason.)

Calligraphy Sampler

Treasure Map was a response to the map prompt. Used Tim Holtz Distress Ink pads directly on the card for the base color and edging. Came in with ZigWriters and a gold Sharpie to add details.

Treasure Map

The sun prompt gave me, Sunshine on My Shoulder. I love the bright feel of this piece. I began by using a found object as a stencil for the sun. I put in the yellow rays with a ZigWriter and  then re-positioned the stencil between the yellow ones, to add orange rays. The sun’s center was done with Pan Pastels. The sky and tree were done with ZigWriters. House was collaged from scraps, highlighted with a brown Staz-on ink pad. Clouds were added with a white gel pen.

Sunshine on My Shoulder

As someone pointed out earlier, this piece has a Sark feel to it. List of favorites was the prompt, but I tweaked it to List of Favorite Things About Making Art. Using the rainbow ZigWriter palette, I let those things spiral off the page.

Favorite Things About Making Art

 

The final ICAD for today may not be finished. I haven’t decided yet. I began by creating a “wall” using a brick patterned stamp and brown Staz-on ink. Color was added with Pan Pastel. Sky color is a combination of ink layers beginning with Tim Holtz Distress Ink. Once fixative was applied and the card was dry, I went in with gel pens to add the vines and flowers, inspired by the ivy prompt.

Vines on the Wall

That concludes this week’s ICAD update. Thanks for stopping by.

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

 

Leave a Reply

