The Eyes Have It!

Approximately eighteen months ago, I planned a mail art mystery. Then, life got in the way and I was unable to execute it. As luck would have it, I found the pieces just before taking a little trip late this past summer. The trip allowed me to follow through and divert suspicion from myself. Or so EYE thought.

Right Eye Self Portrait

Being disconnected from the cyber world for so long, I mailed the twelve postcards and promptly forgot all about them. A few days ago, I discovered that I had been found out!

http://iuoma-network.ning.com/profiles/blogs/who-s-eye-is-this-who-dunnit

My friends at IUOMA have mad handwriting analysis skills! I wasn’t counting on the recognition factor. Next time, I must disguise my writing and cloak my puns.

As for the art, it was a piece I did in high school… way back in the day. I signed my artwork differently then and really thought this would keep folks off my trail. I scanned the original image and printed out twelve 4×6 postcards, numbering them accordingly. They were mailed to seven states domestically, but also to five other countries: Argentina, France, Germany, Greece and the Netherlands.

It will be some time before I attempt another mystery mailing. (Maybe I should brush up on my Agatha Christie first?) In the meantime, I am already preparing my first batch of mail art for 2014. Stop back to read more about it in an upcoming post.

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

5 thoughts on “The Eyes Have It!

  1. Pingback: Liberate Your Art 2014 Postcard Swap! | Trash Bubbles and Life's Little Bits

  2. Pingback: In the Mail: A Smattering | Trash Bubbles and Life's Little Bits

Leave a Reply

