Outbound Mail Art: Consumer Consciousness Series Continues

As January takes a firm hold, it seems that I am playing catch-up in several arenas at once. Not only am I trying to re-connect with folks online, I am also attempting to re-connect with my mail art friends.

The Consumer Consciousness series is one that I began quite some time ago. It holds no less allure for me now than it did upon completion of my first piece. Each postcard usually begins with a blank index card measuring 4 x 6 inches. It takes what seems like forever to complete one, as the artfully arranged labels and price stickers come from consumer goods purchased for my household. That having been said, I am often working on several at once.

The post cards below were recently uncovered in an attempt to re-assert control over the current chaos that is my studio. Meant to have been mailed sometime between late fall and Thanksgiving, these pieces have been hiding beneath the detritus of project debris. We all know that the road to hell is paved with good intentions. Some of my good intentions will finally see the post this week!

Consumer Consciousness: Cafe Mocha

Consumer Consciousness VIII (The Value of Polka Dots)

Consumer Consciosness: NEW!

VIIII A Flight of Consumer Consciousness

Poor lighting and my camera do not serve me the way a scanner did. Here’s to hoping that I find a new one soon!

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

8 thoughts on “Outbound Mail Art: Consumer Consciousness Series Continues

  1. Whew, these are noteworthy! So much time on them, indeed. I’m a minimalist myself. Love to see others are not, however. See you in the mail!

  2. Love your sticker mail….I always means to save them and never seem to get round to it as they say. Maybe I will do a whole sheet and just keep adding stickers, especially the veg ones. xox

    • Thanks, Corrine. πŸ™‚ I keep several cards nearby and as I unpack/unwrap my purchases, I take the stickers off and put them right onto the cards. I used to try to “save” them for later, but found they either lost their stickiness, or I misplaced them completely! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

