A Different Kind of Bubble

Recently, a reader asked if I intended to make and post more Trash Bubbles here in the blog, or if I was switching to mail art.

Thrown by the question, I wasn’t sure how to answer.

Trash Bubbles grew out of my mail art pursuits, much like the Consumer Consciousness series of postcards I create. Although they can be used as gift tags, personal totems and such, I originally intended Trash Bubbles to be mailable art. I stick a stamp or two on them and drop them in the nearest mailbox.

That said, I realize that I haven’t been posting many Trash Bubbles here because I’ve had so much else on my plate. I simply haven’t been making them regularly.

To remedy this, I followed through on a concept I had for a new kind of Trash Bubble.

Life's a Crap Shoot! I

Life’s a Crap Shoot!

Many of the bubbles I save are small, not large enough to mail on their own. This time, I turned one into a mailable postcard-sized piece by hand-stitching scraps of card stock (leftover from a previous project) to either side of the bubble.

The HOYLE VEGAS DICE packaging originally held five regulation sized dice. Using two slightly smaller dice, I inserted them snake-eyes up knowing there wasn’t enough room for the dice to roll around inside. We are now in a state of eternally crapping out, as it were. That’s where the title ‘Life’s a Crap Shoot’ comes in.

The zig-zag stitch I used will allow the piece to be free-standing, as illustrated in the next photo.

Life's a Crap Shoot! II

More Trash Bubbles are in the works!

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

4 thoughts on “A Different Kind of Bubble

Leave a Reply

