The Folly of Hoarding Art Supplies!

Yesterday, I posted a bit concerning my participation in the Dreadful Project.

https://trashbubblesandlifeslittlebits.wordpress.com/2014/03/04/a-hodge-podge/

My intention was to add a bit of glow-in-the-dark acrylic paint to the white spaces of the piece, in hopes of creating an ethereal effect for the specters.

Specters in the Dark

Specters in the Dark

The paint was already in my arsenal. I just needed to break it out and use it! I was so excited to finally have a purpose for it!

This is what I found when I opened the package…

Palmer's Luminous Acrylic

All dried up and no place to go!

All dried up and no place to go!

Clearly purchased on clearance (either close to, or past its expiration) this paint was then stored in a drawer until which time I found a use for it.

Oh! The folly!

If I can impart just one morsel of wisdom to you from the desk of The Studio at Piney Creek Acres, let me impress the following upon you; USE YOUR SUPPLIES!

They are meant to be used, not collected! Use your paints, your pretty papers, your markers, your ribbons, trims, stickers, etc!

Be FEARLESS! So what if what you attempt to make with them doesn’t turn out the way you hoped it would? It is in the act of creating that we find satisfaction. It is in the creating that we learn and grow. Don’t be a collector. Be an artist!

Go now and use that treasured supply you’ve been saving for “just the right project!”

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

6 thoughts on “The Folly of Hoarding Art Supplies!

  1. I stuggle with this…what if i mess up? So what, right? No one will know but me. My word for 2014 is BECOMING and one of the many things I’m becoming is FEARLESS…at least where art is concerned πŸ™‚

    • So glad to know that this post spoke to to you, Lisa. πŸ™‚
      My word for this year is BALANCE. A few years ago, it was FEARLESS. I think all creatives go thru a similar evolution. I think it all depends on our life’s circumstances. My fearlessness through art actually happened AFTER the FEARLESS year had transpired. Go figure. πŸ˜€ That it happened at all is amazing to me. I used to censor myself and now, I let whatever needs to be heard come out through my art. For me, art is a spiritual experience. I channel whatever speaks to me. More often than not, I surprise myself because at the start, I usually have no vision of the final product. I am inspired by one thing or another and I’m off! Sometimes, what evolves is crap. Occasionally, it is amazing. Most often, it is mediocre. I keep creating because I can’t stop, no matter what the final outcome. I am rewarded by what I am able to learn from my mistakes and by the few Happy Accidents that bloom. In the meantime, I am thankful for the inspiration to keep showing up, to keep creating. πŸ˜€
      Thank you for stopping by, for sharing a bit and for giving me more food for thought!
      Wishing you a most creative journey!
      L

  2. Pingback: On My Desk: Trial and Error | Trash Bubbles and Life's Little Bits

  3. Thanks so much for this blog post. I stumbled across it when my friend Joanna Grant commented on it. You know, I agree wholeheartedly with you about not hoarding supplies, but some items are so precious that I need to wait for the PERFECT project. I actually commented yesterday about not wanting to use the teensy little envelopes a friend sent me. My goal is to use more of the things I already own, rather than buying more. Since the luminous paint is clearly trash now, maybe you should try some mineral spirits to loosen it back up. As Artists, we all should make a pact… I promise to reach for the stash first, if you will too.

    • Thank YOU, Pam, for stopping by and taking the time to share! I’m all for the pact you proposed… I faithfully promise to reach for the stash first! Wishing you a beautifully creative week! πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Outbound Mail Art: Orange, Blue and Bubble Too! | Trash Bubbles and Life's Little Bits

Leave a Reply

