Liberate Your Art Follow-Up! And Blog Hop!

The Liberate Your Art 2014 Postcard Swap has ended. If you recall, the swap challenged us to print our artwork on postcards. You can read my original blog post here: https://trashbubblesandlifeslittlebits.wordpress.com/2014/01/22/liberate-your-art-2014-postcard-swap/

Printing was new to some, old hat to others. Many of us used a professional printing service. Here is my post detailing my printing experience: https://trashbubblesandlifeslittlebits.wordpress.com/2014/02/03/in-the-mail-postcards-from-moo/

Once we’d received our printed postcards, it was time to send them of to Kat Sloma at kateyestudio.com for the real work of the swap. Some of us made short work of it, others took the time to decorate envelopes, making more of a ceremony out of it. You can read about my send-off here: https://trashbubblesandlifeslittlebits.wordpress.com/2014/02/07/on-my-desk-doodling/

In celebration of all the participants and all of the liberated art, I thought I’d share the six pieces I received during the month of March.

Liberate Your Art 2014 Postcard Swap

The first piece I received was stunning. The image, the color really grabbed me.

The Blue Trees in London

At first, I thought this was a digitally altered photo, but then I turned it over. Photographed by Mel in the UK, this is one of ‘The Blue Trees in London.’ (An environmental art installation by Konstantin Dimopoulos.)

The next postcard to arrive was ‘Aria Dog.’

Aria Dog

A photograph by Maria Ontiveros of her daughter’s dog, peering over the fence. Each time I see this piece, I can’t help but wonder what the dog is thinking….

Sunset in Apalachicola, Florida was third to arrive in my mailbox.

pdbannettphoto.com

P. Bennett shot this at sunset on one of the inlets there. I loved the crispness of the reflection in this image.

‘Theory of All Fates’ by Anne-Camille Tongleux is a digital dream!

Theory of All Fates, Anne-Camille Tongleux

She used Zazzle for her printing. I like that she used a border and embedded her information there.

As the month wound down, I found a piece from Teresa Cash in my mail box, encouraging me to “enjoy the little things in life.”

Teresa Cash

Then, as Kat Sloma’s postcard arrived, the swap came to an end.

Layered Autumn by Kat Sloma

‘Layered Autumn’ was a thank you for our participation in the swap.

Kat Sloma Thank You

It was great fun participating! I looked forward to each new piece as it arrived. All the artists were brave souls, to step out of their comfort zones, to try printing and sharing their art.

That having been said, it was truly disappointing to me to see the sad state of these postcards as they arrived. The postal service has obviously been letting their machines go… These little treasures were scuffed and torn and burnt! In the case of Kat’s a hole was literally burned through the card by the machine. I wondered if this was something that happened locally, or if other participants had noticed these kinds of damages as their postcards arrived.

A huge THANK YOU! to Kat Sloma of kateyestudio.com for hosting The Liberate Your Art 2014 Postcard Swap, for her encouragement, time and devotion to the success of it all!

Now, hop on over to the Liberate Your Art 2014 Postcard Swap Blog Hop to see some of the other amazing participants and their submissions to the project!

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

34 thoughts on “Liberate Your Art Follow-Up! And Blog Hop!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Claire! This was my first year participating in the swap and I’m hooked! So many talented folks, loved connecting with everyone… Glad to meet you! Happy Easter to you and yours! 😀

  1. The swap was so much fun and so is the hop. I get to see cards I haven’t seen before. You got a great bunch of cards. Nice to meet you. I’m already thinking about next year!

    • Thanks for popping over, Candace! Glad yours weren’t damaged like mine… I guess it must be the sorting machines here in the Pittsburgh area… Have a beautiful weekend! 🙂

  2. Some of my postcards received boo-boos from their adventures arriving, but none suffered a hole burned in them! Sorry, that happened to you. 😦 Have a Happy Easter!

    • It is the nature of mail art, that the pieces will pick up a few scrapes, bumps, or bruises on their journey… In some cases, those things add character, but here, it seemed a shame for all the effort folks put into their postcards. :/ Thanks for pausing to commiserate with me. Happy Easter to you! 🙂

  3. I’m back again. I just realised that your postcard is not blue trees. Your post card is the one with clocks which I also received. The collage of clock faces was hit on the facebook event page!

    • I was just about to answer your first comment, when I saw your amendment. 🙂 Thanks much for your compliment on my clock face piece and for sharing it on the fb event page! (I actually shared your post on my wall because it was so flattering!) I appreciate your stopping by and hope that we will continue to run across one another. All the best to you! 🙂

    • Thank you! The bird cage hangs on my studio wall and makes a great backdrop for photographing mail art I receive. I think I picked it up at TJMaxx? Or maybe Marshalls. Either way, it was reasonably priced. Glad you stopped in! Have a great weekend! 🙂

  4. Hi Lynn! I wanted to pop by and let you know that I received one of your cards (a beautiful bit of mixed media with a bird). And it’s funny to see the list of what you received. I also got cards from Mel, Maria and Teresa although some of mine were different from yours. Oh – and none of mine were damaged other than lightly scuffed edges. Must be your processing center.

    • Thanks for stopping by, Cheri! I’m glad to know you received one of my birdies! Also glad that your cards arrived unscathed for the most part! Have a beautiful spring! 🙂

  5. Great group of cards! And I love the one you sent out!! I found four of my cards, and three of them were damaged and marked up, I am sending new ones to replace them, as I have traded with the recipients before. ( I mean i would for a stranger too) I am seriously considering laminating mine next year. But I will have to research to see if they would be accepted in the machines.

    Wow, your cards really were destroyed! I actually received one that had not been canceled, ( is that what they call it?) It had no marks at all, and the stamp is clean.. I could steam it off and reuse it!

    Well, You are my last hop! It was so much fun to see everyone’s work. This even just keeps on giving I think. The fun of creating cards to send, the anticipation of receiving. The joy of connecting through the hop, and if we are lucky, the fun of connecting through emails or a letter too. Hope you have a creative, happy year Lynn!

    • Thanks, Sheila!
      I have come to the conclusion that the damage is being caused by a local postal facility. Most all of the mail I receive these days is damaged, even junk mail. I am trying to find the right people with whom to file a complaint.
      Keep creating!
      See you next year! 🙂

  6. You got wonderful cards!

    Fyi on Dog: That’s how dog look at their human companion. Obviously the dog is watching the human behind the camera. I see that look all the time. It does not need words. I thoroughly understand that look and I love it 😉

  7. Pingback: On My Desk: Liberate Your Art 2016 | Trash Bubbles and Life's Little Bits

Leave a Reply

