Outbound Mail Art: Collage and Rust-Po

Recently, my goal has been to spend a minimum of two hours in the studio each day. Life has a way of thwarting things, but I have pressed on. I firmly believe Pablo Picasso’s quote, “Inspiration exists, but it has to find you working.”

When I go to the studio without an agenda, no project in mind, I spend time looking through my supplies, until something jumps out at me. Then, I get to work with an energized vigor, often losing track of time.

That is what happened with this piece. I found myself thumbing through some old magazines and catalogs and was inspired by this vintage black and white photo inside the cover of a gun magazine.GunsDontKillPeople

I call it, ‘Guns Don’t Kill People. People Kill People.’ My art work has not previously had such a political edge to it. Not saying this is a turning point in my work, but I really like the way it turned out and the message is hauntingly alive.

Rust-po is a special brand of trash-po, one that inspires me to think of certain rust-loving folks whenever I stumble across some great rusty bits.

TinRoofRusted

The rusty bits in this piece were from a rusted out chimney flue. That said, the title is a bit misleading, ‘Tin Roof-Rusted!’ came from the B-52s song, ‘Love Shack.’ The base is 4×6 card stock inked in brown. The overlay is vinyl tinted with alcohol ink.

Visions of Nancy Bell Scott’s delight are currently dancing in my head. Can’t wait to get it into the mail to her!

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

 

Leave a Reply

