Simplicity

Never before have I blogged a piece of mail art I received with the piece being returned to the sender. Not sure why. I guess it’s just been easier for me to go with incoming and outgoing.

Today, is the exception.

A simple white postcard arrived in my mailbox. One side was neatly addressed. The other side was typed using carbon paper. The purplish blue type, so unique in today’s correspondence told me this was no ordinary mail.

BhomasTrownI

My husband always gets the mail. He delights in producing mail art from the stack of bills and junk because my reaction is always giddy and over-the-top. Imagine my surprise when I stumbled across this in a stack of junk mail I was sorting!

At first, I thought maybe it was a happy accident. I did not recognize the name of the sender. Who was Thomas Brown? Where did he find me? It’s not so difficult, I admit, as I belong to so many mail art and letter writing groups. More intriguing even than the sender was the content.

The hubby said, “It must be from someone in the mail art community.” I wasn’t so sure. I sat on the piece over the weekend, just pondering the whole thing.

Then, yesterday morning, I pulled up IUOMA (The International Union of Mail Artists) and searched for Thomas Brown. A photo of a piece came up under the name, but then I noticed a Bhomas Trown in the registry! Surely, this must be him! I took a gander at his profile and the return address was the same!

Mystery solved! I admit to being slightly disappointed at reconciling the details so quickly. I truly expected it to be more challenging. Or did I learn more from reading all those Agatha Christie novels than I previously thought?

Taking a cue from the simplicity of Thomas’ postcard, I created ‘This Is Not White.’ It was inspired by a Clorox bleach campaign from a few years back.

This Is Not White I

When it came to the reverse side, I paid homage to the typewritten piece and the man behind it.

This Is Not White I (Back)

All bits were scraps left behind from other projects.

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

 

4 thoughts on “Simplicity

  1. Funny postcards all around. Not so sure I would have figured out who the sender was, I would still be scratching my head.

    • What gets me the most is that if it were Kevin sorting the junk mail, it probably would’ve ended up in the trash. He clearly considered it junk when he sorted the mail on the first go ’round. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

