Holy ICAD!

This summer has been a particularly hectic one, leaving me wishing that the ICAD challenge was a winter event.

Lagging far behind in both posting and creating ICADs, I’ll pick up here with Day 25 posting those finished pieces from my desk…

Day 25 FLY

Day 25 FLY

FLY was created with rubber stamps and ink, the large butterfly was attached using foam tape.

Day 26 Circles in Rotation

Day 26 Circles in Rotation

Watercolor circles provided a jumping off point for stamps and doodles in Circles in Rotation.

Day 27 This is Important

Day 27 This is Important

The hubby picked up a bag of odd savings stamps at a yard sale. I had been trying to figure out what to do with them. The colors of these prompted me to use them as a back drop for This is Important.

Day 28 Dream Sphere

Day 28 Dream Sphere

Playing with watercolors, I made a big circle and didn’t know what to do with it. I almost cut it out, but at the last second, opted to fill in around it with a complimentary color. I then stamped and doodled until the Dream Sphere felt finished.

Day 29 Blue Grid Bounce

Day 29 Blue Grid Bounce

Blue Grid Bounce used scraps cut from a quadrille index card and circles punched from a bumper sticker background. Sometimes, simple is best.

Day 30 Gold and Silver Red Wheels Turnin' I

Day 30 Gold and Silver Red Wheels Turnin’ I

Gold and Silver, Red Wheels Turnin’ is a two-piece set. I used painter’s tape to secure two index cards end to end and then layed in ink. When I thought I liked what I saw, I separated them and added stamped images and doodles.

Day 31 Gold and Silver Red Wheels Turnin' II

Day 31 Gold and Silver Red Wheels Turnin’ II

The tissue separating layers of vinyl did not escape my clutches in Recyclable.

Day 32 Recyclable

Day 32 Recyclable

Ink and rubber stamps combined to create Jumping the Grid.

Day 33 Jumping the Grid

Day 33 Jumping the Grid

Short on time, but eager to create, washi tape gave me the ability to create the Washi Tape Blossom in under three minutes on a previously inked index card!

Day 34 Washi Tape Blossom

Day 34 Washi Tape Blossom

More quadrille scraps appear in Off the Grid.

Day 35 Off the Grid

Day 35 Off the Grid

Scraps from a previous endeavor were used to create Natural Elements.

Day 36 Natural Elements

Day 36 Natural Elements

A previously painted watercolor background became home to this Doodle Flower when I was short on time, but needed an outlet.

Day 37 Doodle Flower on Watercolor

Day 37 Doodle Flower on Watercolor

Ye Olde Sewing Room is a mixed media piece combining stamped images, stickers and washi tape among other media.

Day 38 Ye Olde Sewing Room

Day 38 Ye Olde Sewing Room

Again, a piece I’d inked previously provides the background for some rubber stamp play and doodling. Can you guess what song was trapped in my head while I worked?

Day 39 HAPPY!

Day 39 HAPPY!

Don’t worry, Be HAPPY!

Off and running for some more summertime fun… Hoping to get to more ICADs soon!

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Holy ICAD!

  1. Jumping the Grid & Dreamsphere aRemy favorites. The themes you explore are not just visually interesting, but your “tapping into” universal, mathematical concepts and archetypes that are seeing a renewal. Art is an intelligence and I seem to be on a similar wavelength (Validation!). I think that if you could keep pushing past the initial geometric shapes that you will discover new aspects of the work. Sometimes you have to sit with it (without awareness of a deadline). I just would love to see what your imagination will produce! I was also curious whether you accompany your pieces with your point of view on it or notes (just for you)? Also, do you hear music or set you work to music? That sometimes can help you expand an idea to stretch it a little further…just an idea…
    When you think you can’t go any further…KEEP GOING! I love your posts! ^_^ ♡

    • Lisa, I LOVED your take and your ideas! It’s funny you should ask about the music aspect. Several pieces of my previous work were all done while listening to a piece of music looped over and over… Andare, by Ludovico Einaudi. I felt as though I were channeling that composition and my works were unlike anything I’d done before or since. I rarely make notes on or about the stand-alone pieces I create, but my art journal sees a good deal of that self-communication and reflection. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your thoughts here. 😀

      • Sure thing. Your work is quite amazing & I’m so blessed to have this forum to share my thoughts. Heres wishing you many future inspired pieces…!

Leave a Reply

