Mini Glue Book Round Robin 2014

If you’ve visited my studio page (https://www.facebook.com/TheStudioatPineyCreekAcres) on facebook, you might have seen that I am participating in a round robin collaborative affair, sponsored by Melodee Isaacs over at The Studio- a thriving artist community (https://www.facebook.com/groups/TheStudioAprilCole/)

All participants created “glue books” from tiny composition books. The books are being kept in the Zetti-style of collage, originally created by Teesha Moore (http://www.teeshamoore.com/)

This is the front cover shot of the book I created for this event.

A Bird's Eye View

The title of the book is meant to be the theme as well. Each artist who receives the book will create two pages or a two-page spread in the Zetti-style, based on the theme. I am very excited to see what they come up with.

Meanwhile, I have received the first book to head my way. It was created by Julia Jae. I am using her photos of the book, as I felt they were better than any I could offer.

10547438_10152364564788577_6818966311123060213_n

Circle of Life (contributor page) Julia Jae

Circus of Life (inside back cover)  Julia Jae

Circle of Life (back cover) Julia Jae

Julia’s Circus of Life theme appealed to me in so many ways. Having seen photos before the book arrived, I’d already begun creating in my mind’s eye. I knew, right away, that I would use my circus tent design from ICAD 2013 in some way.

Circus Tent ICAD June 13, 2013

This is where I find that scans of my artwork come in handy. All I had to do was print and cut.

Scan, Print, Cut

My vision of what I would create had changed several times by the time the book arrived. I realized that the size of the tent was much larger than I would require and it was back to the printer to reformat so that I could get four smaller prints from one 4×6 index card.

I cut them out and began stacking them, creating a gown of sorts and this is what transpired.

Circus Tent Gown

Many of my preconceived ideas tend to fall apart as I try to bring them to life. Fortunately, this one actually cooperated and I am pleased with the end result.

Make the Most of What You've Got!

It’s just about time to send Circus of Life on its way….

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Mini Glue Book Round Robin 2014

  1. I love how your spread turned out, Lynn! So creative! I have an idea swirling around in my brain for your theme…I hope it turns out as well as yours did! See you in The Studio. 🙂 Jackie

    • Thanks for stopping by, Nancy! It’s been great to meet new friends through the Mini Glue Book Round Robin! Such a fun project! Hope we can all keep in touch, support one another and make more art! 🙂

Leave a Reply

