On My Desk: Daffodil Dreams

Mail art endeavors seem to come in fits and spurts for me these days. Rather than a piece a day, which I’ve been doing for Mail Art 365, I have been working on individual calls that inspire, or in series.

Each month since January, I have created a large (18×24 inch) background which gets cut down into eighteen postcards. Six of those go out to co-members of the 5089 group at IUOMA and facebook. They alter them digitally, or using collage and post photos to the group. The remainder get dolled up by me and sent out into the world as replies to all the wonderful mail that arrives here at Piney Creek Acres.

April’s piece became the Daffodil Dreams series. This is the sneak peek I released prior to mailing:Daffodil Dreams Sneak Peek

Using the rich, primarily monochromatic, yellow mixed-media background I created, daffodils, clipped from fall bulb catalogs, were glued atop. I hated to part with this series because they made my heart so happy. In the end, that is exactly why I did part with them… to spread that happiness.

Here are views of the eleven individual pieces:

Daffodil Dreams I

Daffodil Dreams I

Daffodil Dreams II

Daffodil Dreams II

Daffodil Dreams III

Daffodil Dreams III

Daffodil Dreams IV

Daffodil Dreams IV

Daffodil Dreams V

Daffodil Dreams V

Daffodil Dreams VI

Daffodil Dreams VI

Daffodil Dreams VII

Daffodil Dreams VII

Daffodil Dreams VIII

Daffodil Dreams VIII

Daffodil Dreams IX

Daffodil Dreams IX

Daffodil Dreams X

Daffodil Dreams X

Daffodil Dreams XI

Daffodil Dreams XI

Hope you are all enjoying the mild weather and beautiful blossoms that spring has to offer!

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

2 thoughts on “On My Desk: Daffodil Dreams

Leave a Reply

