A Piece of the Puzzle

In an attempt to find my way back, I’d begun the month of January cleaning, sorting and organizing my studio. I didn’t get very far.

One item kept tripping me up — literally. It was a large puzzle whose artwork was created by Christina Riese Lassen of Maui, Hawaii c2004. My daughter’s friend built it, sealed it and presented it to her when she was still in high school. She left it behind when she moved out. It was missing a few pieces in the lower right-hand corner, but I couldn’t part with it. Something about it really spoke to me. And so, it floated around the floor, sometimes being used as a backdrop for photos, but mostly, it was in the way.

The other day, I accidentally loosed a four inch section when I tripped over it. Voila! The idea was born to break it into mail-able pieces I would re-seal them on both sides to make them sturdy enough to survive the postal journey on which they were about to embark.

DSC_0381

But… how to make them my own? I didn’t want to destroy the artist’s work. That was what I loved and why it stayed so long on the studio floor.

While sorting and organizing the magazines I use for collage, words and phrases kept jumping out at me. I decided to take the time to clip some and found that the choices I made had me thinking about the puzzle. In an effort to move past it, I began matching the clippings to the sections I’d broken up, thinking that I simply needed to acknowledge my mind’s connection so that I could move on.

Instead of the release I sought, I found deeper meaning in the bits. I jotted down each word snippet on scratch paper and wrote the first two or three things that came to mind for each one.

When I finished, I had an outline of sorts. Reading over it, I found it was a lesson in self. It reminded me of some things I’d forgotten, showed me where I’d been meaning to go and delivered the promise for which I’d been looking.

Here are the twenty one pieces before mailing:

PuzzleAllTogetherNow PuzzleBalanceBlues PuzzleBeautyElectric PuzzleBloom PuzzleCarvingAnUnusualPath PuzzleCreativeControl PuzzleEnergy PuzzleFuturePerfect PuzzleHeadingIntoTheFuture PuzzleHiddenBeauty PuzzleInspiration PuzzleJewelBox PuzzleRareBirds PuzzleSeaShades PuzzleStrangerInParadise PuzzleSundance PuzzleTheGrassIsAlwaysGreener PuzzleTranquility PuzzleTrueColors PuzzleWhatLiesBeneath

PuzzleMystery

And this is what they inspired:

PieceofthePuzzleJournalArt

They were mailed domestically. Look for them to land soon, in a mailbox near you!

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

P.S. I have recently contributed a piece to the blog You-R-Here. I would really like all my readers to see it because I mention each and every one of you. Please take the time to check it out: http://you-r-here.net/2016/02/01/goodwill-lynn-radford/

 

21 thoughts on “A Piece of the Puzzle

  1. Such a wonderful idea…the painting is so cool but sending it out into the world is like sending a piece of you with it. Love and hugs *!* Amy On Feb 9, 2016 10:45 AM, “Trash Bubbles and Lifes Little Bits” wrote:

    > lkr1995 posted: “In an attempt to find my way back, I’d begun the month of > January cleaning, sorting and organizing my studio. I didn’t get very far. > One item kept tripping me up — literally. It was a large puzzle whose > artwork was created by Christina Riese Lassen of” >

  2. Lynn, this is one of the coolest and most serendipitous (is that a word?) projects I’ve ever seen. I love it, and am honored to have received True Colors! My grandson thought it was amazing too. He kept oohing and ahhing over it. Thanks so much for including me with a piece of the puzzle. I am really excited over it. By the way, it made it through the mail just fine. Not one single broken piece!

    • Awesome! Thanks for sharing, Terry! I think it’s great when young people react to mail art the way they do. Getting them involved is the key to continuing the long standing tradition. You don’t need to be a classically trained artist to participate. Some aren’t artists at all, as you have seen. We are merely passionate about quirky communication, sharing in an idea that is broader than any one person, view or ideal. 😀

Leave a Reply

