On My Desk: Liberate Your Art 2016

Another year has passed since we talked about the Liberate Your Art Swap hosted by Kat Sloma of Kat Eye Studio. Read about the swap here: http://kateyestudio.com/liberate-your-art-postcard-swap

The idea behind the swap is to get artists and photographers thinking about reproducing their work and sending it out into the world. Many of us create one of a kind (OOAK) pieces and move on. But… the life of a particular piece is not limited to its original if you can reproduce it. We’re not talking about large professional quality prints for sale, although you can certainly take your artwork in that direction if you wish. We simply use the art to create postcards. Small. Simple. Easy.

This is my third consecutive year participating in this swap and it never disappoints. You might think it would be boring year after year, but rather, I find it more challenging as I go along.

Read about my first year here: https://trashbubblesandlifeslittlebits.wordpress.com/2014/04/17/liberate-your-art-follow-up-and-blog-hop/

Read about my second year here: https://trashbubblesandlifeslittlebits.wordpress.com/category/liberate-your-art-2015-post-card-swap/

This year, I chose two images to work with. The first was a photograph I took of some colored pencils that, to me, was striking.

Colored Pencil Photo

The space off to the right felt empty. I almost abandoned the use of the photo for that reason. Then, I had the idea to pair it with one of my favorite quotes about color and this is what transpired…

COLOR QUOTE Colored Pencils

The colors changed from my original in the uploading/printing/scanning process. Sadly, there was no way to prevent that. My preference was for the brighter, truer, more crisp colors, but I am satisfied with the final product, knowing that if you don’t see them side by side like this, you don’t know there is a difference.

The second image I worked with was a 4×6 collage I created using Crow About StudioB elements from Nancy Baumiller. You can find the image packs I used here: Funky Borders: http://www.mischiefcircus.com/shop/product.php?productid=23280&cat=0&page=1 and Tree Lovers & Things: http://www.mischiefcircus.com/shop/product.php?productid=23281&cat=0&page=1

TheWallflower

The Wallflower

Once again, the colors were more muted than I’d intended. Firstly, I do not have a laser printer with which to print the image packs for use in collage. Secondly, re-scanning/printing further changes the colors. For my purposes, the softer more muted colors were okay.

Vistaprint was my printer of choice for quantity and cost concerns.

Five printed postcards are required for the swap. I’m not sure if I will choose one design over the other, or if I will send a mix of the two. I also need to art up the envelope I’ll be sending them in. That’s what’s on my desk today.

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

 

 

19 thoughts on “On My Desk: Liberate Your Art 2016

    • Thanks for dropping by, Lurlene! Side swapping will definitely be happening! Pm me with your real world addy on fb! I’ll be compiling a list to send out after the swap has ended. πŸ˜€

  1. Lynn, I love how you gave your sneak peak this year, you always have some great ideas for your postcards. The wallflower is so creative and top of my list favorite so far! Looking forward to swapping!

  2. I love both your choices for this year’s swap! I hope we can do a side swap. And speaking of that, I need to get busy and order more cards. I bought my first set at Moo but the cost was prohibitive of purchasing more at the time. I’m going to check out Vistaprint. Thanks for the tip. πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Liberate Your Art Postcard Swap 2016 (Update) | Trash Bubbles and Life's Little Bits

  4. Love your card! I’ve seen it around on FB and on other people’s post. If you still have any left for side-swapping, let me know. I also did one with A colored pencil. πŸ˜‰ But I have others you may prefer. And even if you don’t have any left to swap, I’ll still send you one. Check out my post.

Leave a Reply

