On My Desk: Carving Fish Stamps

If you’ve been following me for some time, you know that I don’t DO people and I don’t DO animals. My style is fun, colorful and often abstract. I love to collage bits of this and that together. I love creating colorful mixed-media backgrounds. Assemblage is my balm. But you won’t find me painting a portrait, or drawing animals. I leave that to the folks with the talent to do them justice.

So what does a girl do when she’s inspired to answer a mail art call for FISH? I’ll tell you what she does! She panics! She procrastinates and she practices all manner of avoidance techniques.

And then… she takes a deep breath and gets out her stamp carving supplies! Because she’s not going to let this little problem stand in her way. She’s simply going to approach it from another angle.

That, dear readers is what creativity is all about: finding alternative ways to do a thing.

So here goes nothin’!

My husband and I recently had lunch at The Bonefish Grill. It was delicious and the Urban Chic vibe was awesome. I was inspired by their logo and had to try my hand at creating something similar.

Fish Bone Rubber Stamp

A few more came down the pike…

Three Handcarved Fish Stamps

Not sure if I’ve gotten this out of my system or not, but I’m heading back into the studio to let it stew while I work on finishing up some other projects.

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

 

 

4 thoughts on “On My Desk: Carving Fish Stamps

Leave a Reply

