On My Desk: SBUX Meets Mail Art

Having an inside source really makes creating SBUX mail art easier for me than it might otherwise be. For those who might be wondering, SBUX is the stock trading name for the Starbucks Corporation.

They have lots of inspiring stickers and marketing bits. Some of them actually make their way into my studio, instead of the garbage dumpster, when promotions are over. For that, I am thankful.

My fascination with SBUX stickers and such began a few years back, when I was consuming a good bit of their product on a regular basis. The piece below is the first I’d been inspired to create, using my own SBUX trashy bits. Can you guess my drink of choice?

Consumer Consciousness: Cafe Mocha

Consumer Consciousness: Cafe Mocha

Late last summer, I was given a roll and half of those little ice cube stickers they used to mark purchased frozen beverages on a card counting toward a free frozen drink. The promotion was long over and the left-overs were landfill fodder if I didn’t rescue them.

They were cool! HA! But what to do with them? What eventually transpired is a series of postcards that I call Fractaled Fissures. The six pieces pictured below are already on the way to their recipients, but I have many more in various stages, awaiting completion.

Fractaled Fissures No. 1

Fractaled Fissures No. 1

Fractaled Fissures No. 2

Fractaled Fissures No. 2

Fractaled Fissures No. 3

Fractaled Fissures No. 3

Fractaled Fissures No. 4

Fractaled Fissures No. 4

Fractaled Fissures No. 5

Fractaled Fissures No. 5

Fractaled Fissures No. 6

Fractaled Fissures No. 6

Although the pieces in the Fractaled Fissures series look alike, each one is different from the next. They are portable and easy to work on when I am away from the studio. Over the next few months, I hope to complete the series. Look for them to land in a mail box near you!

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

2 thoughts on “On My Desk: SBUX Meets Mail Art

Leave a Reply

