Tuesday Trash Bubbles:

Last week, I offered out the E6000 & Duct Tape Trash Bubble as a give-away. It didn’t go over as I had hoped, so I am back to my tried and true method of finding homes for my bubbles… intuitively making and sending.

Today, I offer up a different kind of Trash Bubble. This one is smallish in size and requires no mailing. It is meant as a gift tag, or package topper.

Back in 2013, when GreenCraft magazine published my article on Trash Bubbles! in its winter issue, I showcased several kinds, the gift tag/package topper being one of them. This was the example given in the magazine spread:

greencraftwinter2013-010

FLY is my current example of a Trash Bubble for use as a gift tag/package topper.

FLY (front)

Made from a Tim Holtz idealogy blister pack, I utilized the design on the insert as my background.

FLY (close-up brown bird 2) FLY (close-up orange bird) FLY (close-up blue bird)

The dome-like sections provided the perfect space for nesting birdies and the theme was born. Bits of string, thread and other fibers not useful for any other projects and normally considered trash, were used to construct the “nests.” The birds went into the domes first, followed by the bits. It was tricky to strike the correct balance of bits to support the tiny birds without burying them, or knocking them off-kilter within the domes.

FLY (washi close-up)

Needing to cover up the printed information on the package insert while leaving the design exposed, I used washi tapes that supported my theme. Rubber stamp letters were then used to stamp the title on the piece before I sealed it up.

FLY (back)

The back was painted with black gesso and finished with black washi tape. I am unsatisfied with the insecure closure, so I will eventually go back and strengthen it before using it.

That’s it for today. I hope you’ll consider creating this type of bubble for your next wrapping job. Please share if you do.

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

 

 

Leave a Reply

