From the Heart

Superman!

Today is my husband’s birthday.

It’s a pretty big deal to me because a year ago, I was terrified that he wouldn’t make it to his next birthday.

No, he wasn’t ill. I just had this irrational fear that he would die much like my father did, without reaching his 61st birthday.

There was little I could do to allay that fear. All I could do was wait and pray.

Fortunately, my world is still intact and will be for many, many years to come.

So today, I celebrate the man who supports me, holds my hand, understands even my most irrational of fears, encourages me, lifts me up and loves me anyway.

This is what I wrote for all to see on his fb wall this morning: A VERY Happy Birthday to the Love of My Life, The Protector of the People, The Champion for the Downtrodden, The Rescuer of Strays, The Fixer of Broken Things, The Lover of Ice Cream, The Jeeper’s Jeeper, The True and Loyal Friend, The Doting Grandpa, The Lover of All Things Civil War, The Incurable Romantic, The Grill Master, A True American, The Resident MacGyver at Piney Creek Acres and My Superhero! May your day be filled to overflowing with the love of family and friends. And when it winds down, come home to dinner and dessert. There’ll be ICE CREAM! & Presents. xo ❤

Obviously, there’s way more to him than that, but I’d have been there all day, if I didn’t just hit the highlights.

Considering the fact that he is my Superhero, along with his admiration of Superman, I was inspired to create a treasure box for him. I’ve tucked his other gifts inside it.

It began as a discarded product box and became this:

Superman Trinket Box

I first brushed the top and front of the lid with acrylic ink. I was running out, so I had to come up with a way to cover the sides and give it a more finished look. Washi tape, to the rescue! I then added a knob (Thanks to the Tim Holtz idealogy line) and the Superman clothing tag I’d hung onto for so long.

Superman Trinket Box (detail)

Superman Trinket Box (detail)

Here’s hoping that he likes it as much as I do!

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

