Tuesday Trash Bubbles: Embrace Your Vintage

For a while now, I’ve been considering a monumental milestone… I am approaching the half century mark at warp speed. There is no stopping it. I can’t hit the pause button, or rewind to an earlier time. I am powerless.

What does one do in such a situation?

Not sure about the rest of you, but I constructed a Trash Bubble encouraging myself to Embrace Your Vintage.

It all began with the dread fifty brings and a used wine cork.

Recently, I’d saved the packaging from a Faber Castell Big Brush Pen because I liked the scrolling design printed on it. It made the perfect housing for my bubble.

As I considered the cork, the word VINTAGE kept nagging at me. I’m so vintage, I’ll soon be an antique! But wine, fine wine, gets better with age, right?

It was time to begin looking at possible items for inclusion with an eye toward supporting that old adage.

My husband had found the old grape bunch button not too long ago and it fit the theme, so it went into the pile.

Digging through my bits of this and that, I turned up the vintage automobile, a small piece of rusty upholstery trim, a rusty bit, a sales tax token and tea bag wisdom. “The paradox of age:” it says “The young want to be old and the old want to be young.” Perfect!

The year would have to be incorporated inconspicuously… bingo balls and markers are always good for that.

The ideal placement for the cork left room at the top and bottom. I took that opportunity to hang a feminine charm from it and added a vintage political thimble (Vote so-and-so for Sheriff) that had seen better days, topped with apiece of brass hardware.

The whole thing was sealed up with washi tape and brads.

Voila! I now have a talisman to Embrace my Vintage! Any time I start panicking, I’ll just meditate on the the message it bears.

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

7 thoughts on “Tuesday Trash Bubbles: Embrace Your Vintage

  1. You’ll reach that half century mark with grace and style, my dear. And take it from someone who’s well beyond that mark, it’s not all that bad on the other side. Your talisman is spectacular and will certainly help you embrace your next decade, in classy Vintage style. Thanks for sharing your process, your hope, you creativity.
    All the best,

  2. I remember the dread of being 50, and it’s very real. (Now it’s the dread of a much larger number for me.) At 50, you’re still a spring chicken! Truth be told, you’ll feel no different the day after your 50th birthday as you did the day before. It’s just a number. I’ve learned one tiny bit of wisdom as I’ve aged…age IS just a number and a person’s attitude about life and their being plays a much larger part. That’s my opinion, for what it’s worth. πŸ™‚ Your talisman is wonderful and a very cool reminder of vintage. Vintage” does get better with age and I have no doubt you will be no exception, lovely lady.

  3. What a great way to celebrate your 50th birthday! I love all the quirky bits and pieces you found to make the perfect talisman – so “you”. This might just be the inspiration I need to do a “me” piece of art for my 60th this year…Terry’s right – you’re still a spring chicken! πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks, Jackie! I love when a piece comes together like this one did. You are right, it’s totally me. Can’t wait to see what you come up with for your piece! Spring chicken, or no… I’m still feelin’ it. Thank God for the grands… they keep one moving, at least! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

