Studio Chaos!

Seth Apter (http://thealteredpage.blogspot.com/) has challenged us to share our studio work tables in all their messy glory in his collaborative effort, Studio Table Reveal!

Deciding to take the plunge, I knew I’d be in good company. Pop on over http://thealteredpage.blogspot.com/2014/09/studio-table-reveal.html to see in excess of eighty different artist work tables in various stages of artistic goodness! It just goes to show that creativity is a messy subject… you have to get in and get dirty!

My work table (an old farm table) rarely exposes a work space larger than eighteen inches square. Arty clutter surrounds me despite my attempt to follow the rule, “A place for everything and everything in its place.”

Studio Work Table in the Raw

Today, you can see several projects in various stages of completion, along with the supplies I’m using, scattered about the work surface.

In addition, I have a U-shaped work table that tends to accumulate art supplies, as well as serve as my sewing station.

Horseshoe Work Table in the Raw

Note the random drawers hanging open to the left of the sewing machine and the stack of supplies on top of the stool below… chaos suspended in time.

This challenge got me thinking about cleaning… I mean, when was the last time I thoroughly cleaned the place? But… I’m simply too busy creating!

Happy Trash to you, until we meet again!

20 thoughts on “Studio Chaos!

  1. I love your farm table, Lynn! Your studio looks cozy, warm, and inviting. You have lots of good space to create. (Your post reminded me to check and see if my link was up at Seth’s blog this morning. It was not, because I sent him the photo via email with no link. Duh. But I see I’ve finally made it, after 2 days trying…at #99.) I think Seth’s idea was such a good one. Those glossy magazine photos and books just don’t show the reality of our tables. 🙂

    • So true, Terry! Our studios are not the pristine spaces we wish they were because they are a well-loved and much used space! Seth is always full of great ideas! 🙂
      The farm table has been handed down several times, I’m lucky to have it. It’s a comfortable place to work. The studio is warm, but if I ever get around to it, the colors will be changing. The walls are a milky cocoa color now, but I want a cool, light color, something to brighten the place up a bit. For now, I use my OTT lights for that. Can’t wait to go over and check out yours! Have a great day! 🙂

  2. LOVE this space…..and all your ‘bits’. It’s true, for most who work in mixed media, that the only space clear is that needed for the current project.

  3. I envy everyone who has a place to a sewing machine, mine is traveling all the time from under to above the table, that’s might be one of the reasons that I don’t sew more often. But I agree with you totally no time for cleaning, I mean what I can spend with creativity I don’t want to spend with organizing.

    • I used to lift mine up and down off the floor…. Finally, I just decided to leave it. I find that I do use it more often now. Thanks for sropping in! Happy Creating! 🙂

  4. Thanks for sharing your space. I am one of those that likes to have it all cleaned up between projects. But I know what you mean about using the time for creating instead 🙂

    • Gigi, thanks for popping over! The problem with me, is that I never give much thought to the mess until I am buried so deep, I can’t find a place to work! So true about the “creative rush!” 🙂

  5. You have a great workspace. I agree that it’s hard to organize when you’d rather be creating. I do get to a point though where I just can’t stand too much chaos and HAVE to organize before I can keep creating.

    Jill

    • Thanks for stopping by, Jill! Make no mistake, I do have a point at which the creative chaos becomes too much for me… it just takes a bit longer for me to reach it than it does most folks. BREATHE deeply and Make Art! 🙂

Leave a comment